How to Tell You’re in a Bad Relationship, Part I

OK, first of all, I’m being kind of flippant about the “bad relationship” description. In many ways, it was a very good relationship. We had tons of fun together and were passionate about many of the same causes, and in many ways were really really good together. But. There were signs that I missed. And that I don’t want to miss again. And should have seen before.

I was reminded of this one tonight.

“If you were the right woman for me, I would be happy. I wouldn’t be depressed any more.”

That should have been a red flag and I should have run away. He really truly believed it. It’s no surprise, either. When he was really young, his dad told him that if his mother were more beautiful, he would be happy with her (and not have to have girlfriends on the side). I may have the story wrong a little, but the basic idea is certainly accurate.

Nope, dating me is not going to make anyone not depressed. And I won’t take responsibility for that ever again.

2 Responses to How to Tell You’re in a Bad Relationship, Part I

  1. good for you. we don’t “make” anyone feel anything and … in many ways we need to be in charge of our own happiness and self care.

  2. Julie says:

    Amen to that 🙂

Leave a Reply

