Heart Pain

Sometimes when I was really depressed, my heart would hurt.  I don’t mean that I was sad – although I was.  Or, more hopeless than sad.  Despairing.  But my heart would hurt like I was having a heart attack.  I would sometimes just sit clutching my chest because the pain was so strong.  That wasn’t the only physical symptom I had . I would also sometimes have trouble seeing.  I would think that there was something wrong with my contacts because everything was blurry, and then remember that I was wearing my glasses.  I would have to squint to see things and think about what I was looking at because a trash can could look like a mailbox.  My brain wasn’t working correctly.  I’m finding that – not having been depressed for a year and a half now – I don’t really remember what these symptoms felt like.  It was a terrifying combination though, both the physical symptom and then the feeling that I was going crazy.

Has anyone else experienced symptoms like this?

2 Responses to Heart Pain

  1. weare1 says:

    Thank you Broken Saints for your blog, it is a blessing. And yes, I experience heart pain often, partly because of sadness and brokenness from life. But sometimes I do get pain in my heart so badly I feel like I am having a heart attack. Most of the time it is probably anxiety.
    I love your blog. I have been depressed most of my life but the last ten years pretty severely since I found out my husband of 20 years was having affairs. We have three of the most wonderful children together. We have been divorced for 8 years and I still have not recovered in any way.
    My faith is strong, I love my God so much but wonder, probably like most Saints, why we must suffer the darkness of depression.
    I know that even Mother Theresa suffered from the darkness of depression and said she felt so far from God at times? Amazing isn’t it that a woman as holy as she could experience what we experience and still do so much for God.
    Thank you for sharing, God bless you.

  2. star says:

    Hi.
    I’ve only just started blogging specifically about my depression and I’m glad I found yours. It’s hard to connect with people about this subject.

    To answer your question: Yes, when I’ve been at my most depressed I do experience chest pains. And it doesn’t feel like a heart attack or angina, it’s just like a heaviness, an anxiety, an ache or something.

    You’re right though, it’s sometimes hard to recall the exact sensations we have from one period of time to the next. But maybe thats a good thing.
    =)

Leave a Reply

