Another Wedding, Another Baby

I got two more announcements in the mail today: a college roommate is getting married and a college friend just had a baby.  I want to be happy for them.  I really do.  But I’m not.  At all.  I can’t help but think this makes me a selfish person, or even a “bad” person.  I’m just so sick of other people having things to celebrate – big public things that everyone’s happy about.  Things that invite parties and gift registries and people traveling and loud congratulations.  I have good things too but nothing like that.

I feel selfish.  I don’t even know if I want children but it hurts every time someone says that they’re pregnant because they have something else to celebrate.  This isn’t who I want to be but it just feels so unfair.

It feels so silly, but I want someone to throw me a party.  I want to be able to register for gifts – not because I want the gifts, but because I want to be celebrated.

One Response to Another Wedding, Another Baby

  1. Krissy says:

    Another post I agree on. I see my friends celebrate and sometimes I just feel left out. I think one of the nicest things about Facebook is that it reminds people of my birthday so I at least get some notice. It’s not that you want others not to have things – you just want to have some of it as well. I don’t think it turns into selfishness until you let it affect things and try to steal the occasions from the person. I’ve seen that way too many times.

Leave a Reply

