An Assignment

For my church newsletter, they want to feature artists.  I talked to the editor, and she wants a 700-900 word thing on how growing up in a family of artists shaped me and affected my faith.  Now, I grew up in a family of addicted mentally ill/depressed artists, and they gave me a lot, both good and bad.  I have to decide what angle I want to take on this.  Any suggestions?  What would you want to read about?

One Response to An Assignment

  1. Krissy says:

    I’m really not sure I could do that in 700 to 900 words. I tend to be wordy. I would suggest showing at least some of both sides of the coin – the wonder and creativity you saw as well as the pain and sorrow. Mental illness/depression goes hand in hand with a lot of creative endeavors and more people need to see both sides. *shrug* Not to mention that I’m sure both sides influenced your faith. Good luck with that!

Leave a Reply

