Progress?

I miss my wonderful doggie very much.  But it’s not paralyzing me.  I’m not falling into depression, I’m not crying uncontrollably, and I’m still able to function.  This would not have been the case two years ago.

Tomorrow I’m picking up his ashes at the vet’s office.  I’m nervous about it because it’s going to make me sad.  The vet and the techs there are SO wonderful and I know they loved my dog so very much that it’s going to be hard.  Also, I’ve never touched “cremains” (did you know there was a word for cremated remains?)  I’m afraid it’s going to freak me out and that I’ll have too many images of the process.  I’m a very visual person.  I’m trying to remind myself that those remains are not my Puppy.  They are a reminder, and something I can bury or scatter to have a place of remembrance, but that he’s with God now, however God takes care of faithful animals. I don’t know the answers but I know that God loved/loves this dog and that there’s no way that ANY living being could have been so loving and faithful without being created by a loving God.

I’m grateful to Solomon for being there through almost 11 years, mostly of depression and turmoil and never turning his furry little back on me.  He was there right next to me when no human was.  He made me get out of bed sometimes when I didn’t think I could.  I miss him so much, but in a way, I think he’s made it possible for me to get to a place where I can live without him, which I didn’t actually think was possible.

Isn’t it amazing that God can work that many miracles using a dog?

2 Responses to Progress?

  1. How true – God sent you Solomon to be your guardian angel on Earth – to get you through your tough times… and he will never be forgotten – People miss out on the joy that having pets bring – their companionship, their love, their dedication… their silliness… you have so many wonderful memories of your beautiful dog….

    ((Hugs))
    Christine

  2. Stephi says:

    Just seeing the way you are speaking now makes me think that you have made progress. With the help of God and love for your doggie you can go on even though Solomon isn’t (physically) by your side anymore. You are being very brave and I commend you for holding on and not falling into a deep dark hole. It’s truly amazing what the love of and the love for a precious animal can do.

    Be blessed!

    Stephi

Leave a Reply

