Surviving Depression

Please read this. Again and again.

And then let me know if you’re a survivor and how we can support each other.

15 Responses to Surviving Depression

  1. hey, 
    I am an OCD sufferer, have been since I was a kid. I really need all the help I can get. I found myself saying outloud today “if there was just one person I had that could understand what I was dealing with.” I also have started a blog, a little bit hesitantly as a fellow OCD sufferer you can imagine why, for this specific purpose of getting help and helping. Let me know and I hope to hear from you soon…
    http://ocdwithlife.blogspot.com/
    為台灣禱告
    pray for Taiwan

  2. lil ol me says:

    slowly but surely.
    somedays i have no clue how i get past noon let alone to the end.
    today would be one of them.
    i read this post yesterday and the followup today. inspiring. uplifiting. moving and so much more.

    • broken saint says:

      I totally understand. I found a poem once by someone who I can’t remember, but a depressed person, and a line in it was about how she tries to wait till dark to go to bed because that shows she’s not a failure.

      I love the name of your blog. I don’t know if you are a person of faith and if so, what faith, but one of my favorite (sort of irreverent) verses in Joshua where god said “Get up! What are you doing down on your face?!”

      It’s so hard. Keep going.

  3. i am a survivor. i stand. sometimes i have needed to sit and cry but today i stand.
    i hear you. i hear you. i hear you.
    hear me.
    we stand together.
    this is me, over here. i am not alone and neither are you.
    i hear you, listen for me.

  4. itsakoolife says:

    Wow. Thanks for posting this. I loved reading it and all the comments both on the post itself and now here as well. So moving. So beautiful. All these people finding hope and comfort in the understanding of one another when living in a world that seems to understand so little. So sacred.

  5. I have had depression on and off my whole life. Not so much as a child, but more frequently (and darkly) as an adult. My depression hurts. It hurts physically. That damn drug from the commercial doesn’t help. It took a lucky combination of drugs to pull me out of bed, get me eating and interested in life once more.
    When you are disabled, child-free and a single car family, it’s extremely easy to get isolated. Very isolated.
    That is what scares me the most.
    Nadine

    • broken saint says:

      YES! It does hurt physically. It really does. And I get the isolation. It’s so hard. I’m not disabled (except for the depression) but I am single and child-free. It’s harder than people think.

  6. Tina says:

    I am a survivor and continue to struggle with depression. I have been on meds in some combination for many years, but the depression still breaks through some days. I have OCD and GAD also, but it’s the depression that I fear the most.

    I’m glad I found your blog and look forward to reading more.

  7. Elinor says:

    I’m feeling really alone today. I’ve had depression for so long I’ve forgotten the person I was. I want to do so many things and I start but just can’t keep going. My house is a mess, my financial situation is impossible, I’m tired today of feeling this way, I’ve been tired of it for so many years I don’t know how I’ve made it this long.I don’t know what else to say I need help, I’m on Medications after a while they stop working and I go on other medications. Year after year. I feel buried, unable to move. I hate it. Someone just help.
    Elinor

    • broken saint says:

      Oh, I wish I knew how to help. I totally understand though – I understand the fatigue and the hopelessness and the despair. For me, it took almost 15 years of trying medications. I finally found one that really really works but it’s so hard to keep trying. I really hope it gets easier for you.

  8. lil' ol me says:

    Every day seems to be a battle at times. Over the last several weeks (few months) depression, anxiety and sucidal ideations have kicked my arse. They have brought an entirely new level.

    In the 4 yrs I’ve worked with ‘this” current therapist she has seen me fall….never fall to this level. Medications are not the answer so to speak. Yet, I need something. Right now I’m on a VERY low (lowest) dose of Lamictal. In hopes to ‘hold me over’ to see a new pdoc who has experience with post gastric bypass patients. IDK that I can wait another 2 months.

    So yeah…I’m right there next to you. It sux. Giant donkey balls. I find going to Sacrament/Church on Sunday mornigns only increases and makes things worse….at least for today it did. 😦

    • broken saint says:

      oh, i’m so sorry. I’ve been there and it’s a bottomless pit. For me, medications were part of the answer, definitely. Even short-term, they can help quite a bit. I’ll be praying for you. and yeah, it SUCKS. there’s no way around it.

  9. mrsandersen3 says:

    Hi, thank ypufor your post! I am a third generation chronic depression sufferer now survivor. I am currently writing a book on the subject and i would love to get your thoughts on it. Check pu my blog if you get a chance and let me know if it is helpful to you? I believe all of us who truly know what depression means for our lives can help eachother greatly by sticking together, bearing eachothers burdens, and learning all we can about how to get help!

Leave a Reply

