Sometimes I Wish…

that depression and anxiety were as un-stigma’d as having a cold or the flu. That I could post on Facebook “Anxiety really acting up today” and people would offer to go to the store for me or bring me soup instead of thinking I was crazy. Or I could say “Depression is really hard this week,” and people would say, “Yeah, I had that once and it kept me in bed for days.” Instead of thinking I was crazy and needed to be on suicide watch. Then I could feel more normal.

Anxiety bad today.

3 Responses to Sometimes I Wish…

  1. Natasha says:

    Anxiety sucks! I can’t offer you soup but maybe a bit of commiseration? I’ve also been there, struggled through, and still sometimes struggle with that. And, yeah, it would be awesome to be able to just talk about it and have anxiety or depression or whatever just be a normal thing that gets normal sympathy and help. (Though actually I have never gotten an offer of soup when I was sick with a cold. If only! Especially if it were home-made!)

    I’m thinking your blog post is a step in that direction. Thanks for being braver than me!

  2. Betty says:

    I agree. Society needs to destigmatize.mental health issues and give people more support on things. Wish I could bring you some soup or cookies. Hope you are feeling better.

  3. broken saint says:

    thanks to both of you! feeling much better.

Leave a Reply

