More Trusting

Wow, a lot has happened lately.

 

I’m officially dating someone.  He’s a really good guy.  I don’t know what the future holds and that terrifies me but I’m happy with him.

 

I got a job offer.  It is absolutely my ideal job – working for a non-profit that has a mission statement of systemic change in the population that I used to teach.  I’d be overseeing the after-school program (grades K-5, I think) AND the teachers of that program (ages 15-23, mostly from that community).  I’d be back with the kids I’m passionate about, and I’d be teaching the teenage and young adult versions of them to be teachers.  It would be hard and wonderful and exactly what I love to do.  It doesn’t pay enough.

 

I told the executive director (who has known me for a while and seen me teach) that it’s my ideal job and I can’t afford to take it.  She said to pray and we’d try to find more funding.

 

I was reminded of what my friends in Mexico say: “Nuestro Dios no es pobre” (our God is not poor).  I was also reminded of this post I wrote not all that long ago.

 

I’m trusting again.  The problem with trusting God is that he might have different plans than me.  But I’ve made my decision.  It’s hard and I’m still trusting. (or trying!!)

Leave a Reply

