Fighting Against My Thoughts

I’m guessing I’m not the only one who has this issue.  I find myself constantly (actually, less constantly than before, so I suppose that’s progress?  Incrementally getting better?) fighting against the voices is my head, which is exhausting. I have to actually consciously think – almost talking back to them – and point out that I’m not stupid, I’m not worthless, my future is not hopeless, I’m not unlovable.  It’s gotten better and I start thinking that it’s gone; when all of a sudden I hear that voice start talking back to me.  It’s so much easier to just listen to it.  I still keep fighting it because I really do know that it’s better for me to not give in, but does it have to be so difficult?

One Response to Fighting Against My Thoughts

  1. Alison says:

    No, you are definitely not the only one. It definitely is exhausting when the voices are persistent. I’m glad you are better and that you posted again! I found your blog a few months ago and commented; I knew that you were probably not posting because you are feeling better, but I happened to check tonight. Your post was a good reminder not to give in. I try to tell myself that depression lies, even though what it says feels awfully (no pun intended!) real.

Leave a Reply

