Trying Gratitude Again

I wrote here about gratitude and how hard it is for me.  This is for several reasons.  People often held up gratitude as an antidote for my depression, when I needed far more than that, and that is one of the biggest reasons why I am so resistant to it.

I’m trying again.  I haven’t been depressed for several years.  I have a lot to be grateful for!  I have a new (well, not so new) job that I love.  I have a great boyfriend.  I live in a good place.  Etc.  But it’s still hard to be grateful!

I’m working on it.  I started a gratitude jar and mean to put one thing in it every day.  I think I’ve done two.  But I have noticed a couple of times when I notice in the moment that something is beautiful or enjoyable, so that’s encouraging.  I’ll keep trying.

Leave a Reply

