Loneliness

The UK has appointed a Minister of Loneliness. https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/17/world/europe/uk-britain-loneliness.html It made me think. It sounds like they’ve done it because of really severe cases: people who hadn’t spoken to a loved one or friend in months.

But some of us are lonely even surrounded by great people! I have so many friends and a very strong community. And I stil feel lonely so very much of the time.

Part of it is just being “un-partnered.” There’s something very powerful about having someone in your life for whom you always come first. I miss that a lot. I am no one’s first call in case of a disaster. I would be many people’s second, third, fourth, or fifth call! But everyone has someone before me. And it’s really easy to be very sad about that.

Then, people are busy. I get that. I’m busy too and I don’t even have children. It’s super valid. But I just want friends to make time for me.

I’m genetically predisposed for loneliness, I think. Many people would not be this lonely in my situation, if at all. But it’s real.

 

Leave a comment