Settled In

I moved! And I’m done.

It took two weeks solid, bringing over one carload at a time and then scrambling to find friends with trucks or SUVs because U-Haul cancelled my reservation. My body is sore because I did the vast majority of it myself. (But I think my arms are stronger!)

This is the first time I’ve lived by myself… ever. I lived with my family until I was 18 and then had roommates throughout college and grad school. Then I moved and started teaching and… well, in California you really can’t afford to live alone as a teacher.

Thankfully I make a little more than a teacher now and I can afford it, but barely.

For years I have been afraid of living alone. I was too depressed and loneliness or simply being alone really triggered that in me. But now… I think I’m going to love it!

It feels a little like a vacation. Part of it is that it’s still new. But also, it’s all mine. I mean, I’m still a renter and have all the concerns that come with that. Rent can be raised, landlords can sell houses, etc. And it’s not big – it’s a one-bedroom apartment. But it feels big and it feels like home. And I’m doing great being alone in it.

F7463E0E-E1FF-48DC-A05F-5968A89D3883

Leave a comment